Facebook: More ads and less users

Does your Facebook seem any different lately? Did they change the font? No. Move something around? No.  More advertising? YES. While there are not more ads, FB has increased the size of the ads.

Since last Tuesday, the FB ads have a 3.5 times larger image along with the normal ad text. The ads have become more prominent affecting the appearance your newsfeeds. This adjustment will also affect how marketers use FB as an advertising platform. Ad specs for ads on both desktop and mobile will now be harmonious and advertisers can create different types ads and campaigns using one image size. FB now aims to increase ad clicks to the advertisers site and now anywhere that you clicks on ad’s image or text it will take you to the advertiser’s page.

Currently, Facebook is the largest and most engaging social media in Australia and worldwide. However, new social media platforms are up and coming such as YouTube, Twitter, Google Plus, Instragram and Tumblr and are stealing FB’s thunder! Statistics show that Facebook is losing users in Australia and introducing larger ads is not going to help this. After the introduction of ads on my newsfeed I’ve felt I can’t get away from the all FB ads and the now they’re going to get larger they are only going to become unavoidable and annoying! This shift in advertising may send FB on the same road as MySpace.

Give me your thoughts on this and check back soon. Like! Comment! Share! 

Until next time lovelies

Sources:

http://mashable.com/2013/09/10/facebook-ad-bigger/

http://frankmedia.com.au/2013/05/01/social-media-statistics-australia-april-2013/

About Taylah johnson

19 year old student studying at Monash University to become a future marketing master!

Posted on September 18, 2013, in Digital Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. FB Ads are so close to my news feed it’s ridiculous! Not only are they larger, they seem to be loosely based around my latest activity. For example, I was recently searching for an AV Receiver & now there is a JB HiFi ad right on my wall advertising, you guessed it, AV Receivers.
    This is one of the reasons I love Twitter so much! There are (next to) no ads! You get the occasional spam bot, or RT spam but that is about it.

    Considering that FB owns Instagram, I have heard rumours that it too will soon get ads. If the privacy policy furore hasn’t already sent users packing, this sure will.

    • That’s right, there are new and exciting platforms like you said Grant Twitter and Instagram, that allow to do the same things as FB without the ads. People are going to switch and it’s already begun!

      As for your related ads, they actually track your activity so ads suit you but this is like most site. We’ve all gotten pretty used to it now.

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. Very interesting! 🙂 Nice blog

  3. Wow, I didn’t even realise this.
    Thanks for keeping me informed Taylah

  4. While I agree that ads are annoying, I don’t think them alone are enough to deter people from Facebook! You’re right that there’s other social networking like Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube etc. but the thing is they’ve been around for long enough and never picked up like Facebook has. Facebook offers basically all of them combined! I mean, screenshots from Tumblr flood my newsfeed everyday, rendering it useless to me to ever bother using.

    And there are always ways around the ads – the adblock app for Chrome, for example. I didn’t even notice that they’ve gotten bigger because of it, I don’t even see any! And I’ve gotta say that ads on YouTube are a LOT more annoying since they delay and pop up during the video, ruining the user experience. I don’t know, I think we are becoming desensitized to these ads in some sort of way since we’re so used to seeing them in everyday life!

    PS. Love your work, just wanted to offer a different perspective 😉

    • We have a loyal FB user over here! haha But seriously if you still love the services they offer you can overcome the ads. For me, personally, I’m starting to find their service less appealing and I can use other medians to do the same things without ads. Maybe it’s because I don’t feel I’m desensitized. I have the ad blockers and they still flood my newsfeed and stand out to me.

      As for You Tube, I rarely get ads because of the ad blockers and even if i do I can skip it and avoid it unlike FB where I cannot remove it.
      Thanks for your perspective Caitlin 🙂

  5. Hey Taylor,
    really good blog i think you have a good grasping of the concepts of the marketing internet but yet are to understand the ful extent of the whay facebook is a market leader in our marketing enviroment. Advertisements (also known as ads adds adverts or advertisemos) are a quintecentral way of how not only the world but the whole earth lives in day to day life. you need to understand that without advertisemos facebook wouldnt even be a social media it would just be a media, like myspace. Keep it up and job good done.

    P.s love your work

    p.s.s.t really love it

    • I understand your argument Cranbert, but FB is a company that earned $1.585 billion in revenue in the forth quarter of 2012. We do need ads but the amount on FB at the moment is excessive, don’t you think?

  6. I feel your pain! I absolutely hate the ads on Facebook, I know that my fb usage has dropped significantly due to the ads. I just hope instagram doesn’t become so involved in advertising, because when it becomes excessive it ruins the overall experience of social media and user generated content!

    • I know right, It is just the worst! Maybe since I study advertising I notice them and can’t just ignore them but it is definitely effecting my usage. I use it more on my mobile since they’re are LESS ads but in general I am still using it less. I am shifting to Instragram and Twitter and I hope they don’t start ads on they’re even. As you said it just ruins it. I understand they need to make money but they must be other ways.

  7. I’ve definitely noticed the increase in ads over the past week on FB! I’ve even clicked on a few getting sucked in by the deals they offer. As you said, Facebook is the most used social media site in Australia and the world so I understand why advertisements have increased, they reach a large audience. However, they are annoying and personally, I go on Facebook to stalk my friends, not companies. Great post!

    • haha I love that ‘ I go on Facebook to stalk my friends, not companies’ But it’s so true! And sometimes the ads do suck you in, especially when there is a clothing sale LOL Adele, Which ads normally catch your attention enough for you to click on it? Thanks for commenting 🙂

  8. Bigger ads seems like an odd strategy for them to adopt. Facebook should be looking at ways to draw us back into their site, rather than push us away! The whole point of social media is the social experience of it – I want to be entertained, to see what my friends are up to, and the occasional deal from a company. Ads all over my newsfeed just makes it harder to see what I want. Though if it was something that I wanted, like a shoe sale, maybe I would like that more 🙂

    • With larger ads they can probably charge more for the ads. That’s the only way I can understand why they would make this change, like you said they’re pushing us away. We don’t go on FB too see companies but our friends. And we don’t mind a few ads but they’re are already heaps and to make them larger is nothing but a bad move. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  9. It is really a nice and useful piece of information. Iam gllad that you shared this useful info with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  1. Pingback: THE MORNING SOCIAL

Leave a Reply

